Building my author platform 

I’ve published my book Memoirs of an Ordinary Guy. It’s listed on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Waterstones etc, so why have I decided to give it away on PDF and ebook? 

To build my author platform, to get known by readers, fellow author, agents, publishers and the like. It may not be the sort of book that appeals to everyone’s taste but if I do say so myself, it is a good read that will make you giggle, tug at your heartstrings and maybe even bring a memory or two of your own flooding back.

All I ask of you, the reader is to become part of my fan base, let me keep you informed when my next book A Time for Adventure is ready for release or my thriller Escape, which I am currently writing is in its final stages or even Hoppie Lottie the children’s picture book, let you know what stage I am with is one too.

It’s not easy out there in the big wide world of being writer as I am finding out. Maybe I should have got rich and famous before writing my memoirs, but hey, I had a book in me waiting to be written and I’m so glad I did it. 

I’m not really one to offer advice, but heres some things I wish I have done sooner.

  • Build your author platform
  • Get an author page on social media sites
  • Get an author page on Amazon
  • Get reviews ( I’m still working on those )
  • Above all promote yourself, then your books.

I wish you every success and hope you grab my free book from my home page on WordPress and follow me @melrjsmith

Leave a Reply

